Gendered Language in Software Development Teams

28Mar - by Samantha - 0 - In Events

UPDATED: The new date/time for this event is 25th April 2022 at 4pm BST (11am EST, 8am PT).

Does gendered language affect your software development process? (Spoiler: yep.)

Gendered language in software development teams

On the 25th of April 2022 at 4pm BST (11am EST, 8am PST), Fempower.tech will be hosting the wonderful Alice Ashcroft (she/they), who will discuss their PhD research into gender inequality in software development teams.

After working for six years in a software development team, Alice saw first-hand the effect of gender inequality on the team itself and the software being developed. So, two years ago she started her PhD at Lancaster University looking into this in more detail and has since started looking into how language affects this. In this talk, she will go over her findings from the last few years, her methods, and why it’s important not only that there is diversity in the room, but how we can help them be heard.

Come along to this event to hear about Alice’s latest research into how specifically this happens, join in a conversation about why, and look forwards to what can be done to support development teams and research.

This event will take place via Zoom. Further details and the meeting link are on Alice’s LinkedIn event page. This event is also published to our Events Calendar– consider subscribing using your calendar app or mail client!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.